A Food Lover On Fasting

46498a7676e711e2830722000a1f9d75

So, it’s been awhile since I’ve written, but I’m hoping to be more diligent about sharing a bits and pieces of our life on here more regularly.

Currently, our family is in the middle of a fun fast. I say that, because for the first time ever, I think I’m really enjoying doing a church-wide fast. I usually groan and complain [the opposite of what you’re supposed to do, but as usual, I’m just being honest about how I am] and don’t spend near as much time with God as I should. I usually get frustrated that I’m not getting to eat what I want and ultimately, am pretty good at having a bad attitude and defeating the purpose of why I’m fasting to begin with. Not this time. I’ve really felt like this was just the right push I needed to start 2013 for myself and for our family. We’ve been praying about the following, if you’d like to pray with or for us:

  1. Deeper intimacy individually, as a couple, and as a family with Jesus. It just seems that having a baby throws off life enough to lose a lot of the romance and excitement in knowing and spending time with God. Just like marriage, it’s easy to get rundown and distracted by the day-to-day redundancies of having a new baby and I personally just wanted a little bit of a new start.
  2. Deeper intimacy in our marriage. Like I said, it’s just easy to not prioritize because well, there’s *a lot* going on, even if it doesn’t feel like much is being accomplished. I want us to try to do better about finding and adding a little romance to our days and ending each night with prayer together. After hearing a pastor say that was key to his 37-year-long marriage, I figured it was worth committing to for what is our 4th year together as a married couple.
  3. Finances. We’ve been praying a lot about increase in our bank account and whether or not we should consider doing more photography, if I should do something part-time at night, or if Mike would do something to supplement our income. There’s many reasons for this, but it’s our desire to own a larger apartment so that our daily life doesn’t feel so congested and crowded. We’d also love to share our space, host groups at our place, and have a yard for Marin to play in as she gets older. Personally, I’m just tired of constantly being on the move and would like to feel a bit more grounded with our living situation. I’d also like to spend more money on groceries [as you’ll soon see I’m getting to be pretty concerned with diet and nutrition needs] and for future children.

f6302a5475fb11e2ab6822000a1fb191

b3c7bc9672da11e2914322000a1f984e

88e9085c75fc11e2a68422000a1fb163

Those are really the three main areas that we went into this fasting journey intentionally praying about, and there’s been a lot of other things that have come from it. Like I said, I haven’t always had the best attitude about fasting and feel anxious anytime someone talks about giving up food. But, what I really didn’t expect, was how convicted I’d feel about that. I mean seriously, is *food* really *that* important to me? Should it affect my life *so* much that without it or what I want to eat I’m forced to be in a bad mood? That’s ridiculous, and that’s not what food is meant to be. So, really, this fast has forced me to really question the amount of stock I put into food – the amount I let it determine my feelings or how it can essentially become an idol? I didn’t give up anything *big*, but when I couldn’t have what I wanted when I wanted it, I was really challenged to not focus on what I was giving up rather than on God. I realize today starts Lent, and the statuses are rolling in that someone *had* to give up ____, but really, that’s not the point at all. It’s not about focusing on what you gave up at all because that’s really nothing in comparison to not only what God has done for us, but also, what we gain in Christ through fasting.

5a08d42a754a11e283e822000a1f8e5b

62ea919c76fc11e2ae2622000a1fb7e1

0f7cdea4762311e2a2d522000a1fb04d

This fast has really made me question what food is. It’s a nutritious supplement that keeps the body running smoothly and sustains it physically. No, that’s not Webster’s definition, it’s mine, but it works. I really *really* do not need to be eating ____ if it’s compromising my body’s optimal function or longevity. So, I’m really, really trying to dedicate myself to eating a Paleo diet and hope to do the Whole 30 when I return from Florida. I’m actually pretty stoked about it and am hoping to save up for a Juicer to have an even more optimal diet. Yes, I realize it’s all baby steps and I’m kinda jumping onto a trendy train here, but diet matters. What we put into our bodies matters. I’m going to try to take even better care of mine in 2013 and after this fast. Or at least after I have a celebratory cannoli.

3 thoughts on “A Food Lover On Fasting

  1. heartabull says:

    it says that mike bennett wrote this, but it sounds like ashley did..lol. so, to the author:

    please post more about your paleo diet! and, joshua and i fasted for a week about a year and a half ago and i was miserable. (we fasted all food, completely. we didn’t do much research about what to drink to sustain ourselves..so we drank loads of water and occasionally had milk/juice) but, some of our best friends did a 40 day fast, giving up food and only drinking smoothies or homemade juice, and they loved it. having your heart aligned with the reason behind the fast is so important. it’s cool to hear how you’re enjoying your fast. i’m still not up for jumping into a fast yet. but the next time we do it, i’ll definitely want to research a bit more.

    i’ve been researching different menu options for Thunder, and as a look at things he should/could be eating, it makes me think a lot about what IIII eat. It’s good encouragement to eat cleaner.

    Oh, and I saw this just now and thought of you: http://www.hellobee.com/2012/11/14/toddler-paleo-lunches/

    Love you guys and will be praying for you!
    ❤ Cori

  2. AK says:

    I always enjoy your blog entries and ANY pictures of sweet Marin too! You definitely have the ability to keep my attention,as well as make me look forward to the next posting! This is just ONE of the unique gifts that God blessed you with. I wonder if there is a way you can use this talent along with your photography to help achieve your personal finance goal?? Just a thought. The three of you are always in my prayers, but I will say extra prayers for God to help direct you on how you can use your talents to achieve your new goals. We love you all!

Leave a Reply

